Reviews

fiX     Missing Pieces          Split The Middle             Bloody Gullets

Editorial Reviews

 

"Beguilingly intelligent with a powerful moral dimension, Missing Pieces is the latest release from Michael Golvach. A slick and facile novel he is completely at ease with his narrative, never striving for effect but careful to be sure we get the message. There's a humane sensibility always bubbling beneath the surface that's simultaneously sympathetic and fiercely judgmental and one quickly gets the sense that there's something needful and anguished going on, sometimes veering towards disturbing as we come to know more about Mandi's abuse. Emotionally charged, Golvach's characters are strong and believable as further aspects of their back stories are revealed and it's to his credit that he achieves an equitable balance between show and tell. On this level it's a chilling reminder of an unfortunate truth that no one comes away from severe childhood trauma unscathed and Mandi's internal angst is handled with as much complexity as Golvach's underlying theme.  A powerful and thought provoking read that will linger well beyond the last page, Missing Pieces is one of those novels you will want to talk about. Certainly deserving of a place on yourbookshelf it is strongly recommended." (BookViral)

"There is only one word that describes this novel: "beautiful." The story is so powerful and poignant that you can actually feel the pain deep inside you. You become one with the characters and that is a major gigantic star for the writer. The story is moving, the characters are strong, and you will simply love them for being the way they are. Many times, writers are not able to write really good dialogues, but in this novel they are on point, like REALLY on point. The characters are beautiful, the story is beautiful, and the cover of the novel is just perfect! You do not want to miss this one; it is a novel that will stay with you for a long, long, long time."(Rabia Tanveer, Reader's Favorite Reviews)

"Missing Pieces is a tender romance about letting go and getting second chances. I really enjoyed Golvach's characters and the intensity that built between Michael and Mandi. I thought their slow burning love affair was really well written. I wanted Michael and Mandi to figure out a way to get together quickly, but having it take time (due to Mandi's insecurities) helped build the tension in the story. I was really invested in their relationship's outcome, and I thought that was a very smart way to build the tension. I also liked the fact that this romance talked about some darker topics not usually associated with contemporary romances. I felt Golvach brought an awareness that I, for one, really appreciated." (Anna Smith - Reader's FavoriteReviews)

"Many questions will come into readers' minds while reading this story and that keeps them hooked till the very end. The author brings out the contrasting backgrounds and psyches of the main characters of Michael Skyler and Mandi Wexler effectively, and the rest of the characters complement the plot beautifully. The plot is fast paced and the detailed and vivid descriptions make the scenes, characters, and the events come alive. The story is sad, it's tragic; it's palpable and touches the hearts of readers. The story shows love beautifully and how everyone would like to have someone so caring, so loving, and so protective like Michael in their lives." (Mamta Madhavan,Reader's Favorite Reviews)

"I found Missing Pieces by Michael Golvach to be a very heartbreaking and emotional roller coaster ride, but also very complex and moving. Any time a book deals with trauma and abuse, it's guaranteed to be a difficult read, but I think Golvach does an excellent job telling the story and describing the abuse in a very non-offensive way. The story is very emotional and raw, and it was heart wrenching to read about what Mandi grew up in and how it affected her life, even into later years. It's a very sobering thing to realize that how we are treated when we are young has such a direct impact on our lives, all the way to adulthood. Mandi could have turned out so different if she had been loved and treated with respect in her childhood. The choices we and others make have lasting consequences.  I really liked the relationship between Mandi and Michael. They each had inner demons that only the other could tame. It was endearing to see how their relationship blossomed and grew as the story progressed. I would recommend Missing Pieces by Michael Golvach to all fans of romance and drama genres." (Charity Tober, Readers' Favorite Reviews)

"I really enjoyed Missing Pieces. It is an endearing romance about two completely different people who end up falling in love, and I loved that message. I also really liked that it touched on some darker issues, like Mandi's childhood and the abuse that she suffered. You don't always see that kind of intensity in romantic stories, but I thought Golvach handled it well in this novel. The darker parts of the story were woven in well and weren't too dark, and there was always Michael's character nearby to lighten up the intensity and give Mandi and the reader hope that the story would brighten up and take on a happier ending. Balancing the darkness and lightheartedness was a really smart way for Golvach to handle the story." (Renee Taylor,Readers' Favorite Reviews)

4/5 (Excellent) -  Review Scale

4/5 (Slightly Steamy Sex with Some Description) - Explicit Sexual Content Scale
*Strong Caution*: This book contains scenes of abuse that readers might find difficult to read.
Mandy Wexler’s soul has been systematically torn to pieces since she was a baby. The victim of unspeakable abuse, she is emotionally hollow and physically maimed by her experience.
Michael Skyler is a young man who feels apart from his friends and family. Longing for an ineffable something to make him feel whole, he is as surprised as anyone at his attraction for Mandy. Looking into her eyes, he realizes that he must save her from the evil that is slowly consuming her soul.
“Missing Pieces” is a book with staying power. The reader is often torn between hope that Michael will save Mandy and disgust at how he allows her to treat him. The story is enigmatic and complex, raising many questions in the reader’s mind along the way. Who is the true victim in this relationship; Michael or Mandy? Is the path they embark on in their journey of love the best thing for each of them?
This story is emotionally uncomfortable and an often distasteful journey into the varied nature of relationships which includes a lot of sexual violence. Difficult to classify, the story challenges the reader’s assumptions regarding the synergy between abuser and victim.

Although, it is well written, the story drags at times as Mandy and Michael’s emotional gymnastics become almost too much to bear.

If the reader is looking for a challenging read, then “Missing Pieces” is a good fit.
(Gwenellen Tarbet, In'DTale Magazine)

 

Reader Reviews (Last Update 05/12/2016)

 

AMAZON.COM

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Crossroads of Realism and Fantasy....Romance and Horror

ByJulie K. Simonsonon November 8, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces was a painful read for me - it is hard for me to get my head around the idea that it is characterized as "Romance." I feel like there is no simple genre that this would fit into. It is dark and, though I have read books with violence in them, I don't think that I have ever read such a raw tale. I was scared reading Missing Pieces because you wanted to hope for Mandi - but, you really didn't know what direction the story would take you. The stupid drug dealer and his "girlfriend" are shallow, and the long dialogues with them were irritating, but I felt pretty realistic (I pretty much get irritated with pot heads anyways). The characters are flawed and the relationships messy. I found myself getting angry with myself when I got angry with Mandi (yes, I was losing patience with the poor girl also!) - I was not as patient as the protagonist, Mike. Missing Pieces is at the crossroads of realism and fantasy....romance and horror. I enjoy reading different genres of books....and this is, I think, the first of its kind.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Story

ByAmazon Customeron August 29, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
I found myself unable to put this book down! It's a bit difficult, but necessary to the overall story, to get through the beginning as it deals with some graphic abuse. You will find yourself rooting for a certain outcome for each of the characters as you get into the story. I think some of the dialogue goes on for a bit too long, and the pot smoking seems to be a bit more front and center than necessary. Don't let that stop you from reading this since I believe a good story trumps the small stuff.
I read quite a bit, and a big thing for me, unless it's sci fi, is plausibility. I always imagine myself somewhere in the story, and I feel it takes on more importance and meaning when I feel (most of) it could happen in real life.
I don't want to reveal too much about the plot other than it's a slow developing love story, that also involves two friends of the male protagonist. A male and a female that have an impact on the male protagonist's relationship and his life in general. How does he handle each character and each situation? Where does this love story end up? Trust me, you'll want to know.

**********
5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

ByH Allanon June 23, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Awesome book!

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

An unforgettable, disturbing tale...

ByA. Lynn Powerson June 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Talk about a book you won’t be forgetting about any time soon! This book is hauntingly beautiful with a cast of amazing characters that carry the story through a few intense days in the life of Mike and Mandi – the former with nothing on his plate and the latter with way too much on her plate.
Watch out for the graphic content, though! It’s shocking, but I think that’s part of the reason why the story will be sticking with me for years to come.
I read and reviewed this book for OnlineBookClub.org.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

The characters are so well developed and I felt like I got to know each and everyone of them

ByAngela s.on May 27, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This book had me hooked from the beginning. I didn't want to put it down. The characters are so well developed and I felt like I got to know each and everyone of them. This story made me sad, angry, horrified and touched my heart all at the same time. What a well written story that entwines passion and pain so beautifully. This book is a gem. Read it! You won't be disappointed!! I can't wait to read more from Michael Golvach!

**********

4.0 out of 5 starsA Dark and Bloody love story

ByJami Greyon May 26, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

While it was hard to read at first, I really felt badly for Mandi and hoped that she'd ended her pain at the end of chapter one. When she showed up later in the book, I was taken aback by all the damage she had suffered throughout the years, and stunned by Mikey's gentleness with her. He truely loved her and went to great lengths to show it, and in return she gave him the ability to stop smoking pot and hanging around toxic people like vinnie. It is a love story, but it is a heartbreaking one.

**********

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

Author definitely has a firm hold over his subject.

ByEishinason May 12, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

From the sensitive, reality based harsh subject of child abuse, author Michael Golvach carves a master piece of contemporary romance fiction, capable of absorbing the readers from the very cover page and putting them under the skin of his characters.'Missing Pieces' is an insight into the sad, shattered life of Mandi Wexler, who has lived all her childhood suffering abuses. Finding no answers to her unreasonable suffering and exploitation, she learns to accept her fate, crushing her innocence and emotions, left with dark incurable impacts on her soul until a real charmer Michael Skyler is drawn towards her from the very first sight. He is destined to show Mandi her worth by his unconditional love and care- she has been desiring all her life.Author Michael definitely has a very firm hold over his subject and story line as he skillfully brings out the heart wrenching, outburst of emotions in his readers through his life-like characters.I was genuinely impressed by the intriguing narration and engrossing dialogue as the novel flowed very well, giving the story a satisfactory end. The novel 'Missing Pieces' sure is worth reading and is highly recommended to all those who are looking for a strong story line in the genre of child abuse and contemporary romance.

**********

3.0 out of 5 stars

Very dark, very emotional and I felt, graphic at times...

ByJA Armstrongon May 2, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

The plot synopsis of this book really intrigued me. I wanted to see how the author would portray this young woman, as well as the young man (with whom I had much in common it seemed coming from a military background, both through my family and myself having served). Having now read this book I am somewhat conflicted. The story is sound, a young woman is consistently abused, emotionally and physically in every way she can be, first by her family, and then by others until she is a scarred shell of a person who cannot fathom anyone looking at her as a freak. On the other side a young man whop is drifting through life, hanging around with people who may or may not be truly his friends and he becomes smitten with the young lady and determined to show her that not everyone is a shallow jerk.So the story was sound, and the abuse was graphic and dramatic (perhaps a bit too gut wrenching for me, a mother of two young girls) and carried throughout. I suffered with this young woman, and was hopeful that all would work out well. There are some twists in the story, and the plot flows well. My only thing that I felt could have been done without are the long drawn out conversations between mike and his two friends while they were high. I actually ended up skipping a few because they dragged on so much.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great, Suspenseful and Interesting Read!

ByLark Weston April 30, 2016

Format: Paperback

Wow. Missing Pieces wasn't the book I expected it to be. It was a lot better. Books about abuse that I've managed to get through are generally either overly sentimental or border on an excited sense that there's something about the act itself that's attractive or erotic.This book, although it deals with the subjects of love and abuse, doesn't go to either extreme. That being said, it also doesn't pull any punches and there were a few parts that were difficult to read. But, even the darkest material was handled by the author with such a sense of compassion and understanding that it was easily readable. The worst, and most disturbing things, aren't neglected, but they aren't given too much attention either. Just the right amount. And nothing in the book seemed unnecessary. Without the heavy darkness, the underlying light and beauty of the love the story (which this, at its core, really is) wouldn't have been nearly as powerful.That being said, the book will keep you reading no matter how you feel about either side of that debate. The book, itself, is essentially a very finely woven web that seems simplistic even while its actually very complex. There is almost no level of the psychology of abuse that isn't being tackled (all within the construct of a well paced and page-turning story) at all times. From the obvious physical and sexual abuse, which the heroin has had to suffer in the past (and suffers still), to drug abuse and even more subtle forms of abuse, like peer pressure and the damage done by the well-meaning among us when they don't understand the actual situation.And, bottom line, as each "Part" title suggests, this book isn't really about celebrating or glorifying abuse. It's about the healing process. It's a book about recovering from horrible things. It's a book about how that healing isn't easy. It's a book about how that healing isn't immediate, or even remotely fast. It's a book that doesn't offer up a quick-fix fairy-tale solution to the problem, and it's a book you won't be able to put down unless you have to.It's a long book (with a page count of 570 plus) but it never felt like a long book. And it was a book I didn't just finish and forget. There's a lot to think about in this book and a lot of things to think about once you're finished reading it. It's the kind of book you'll wish was double the length it is (Which is why I read it twice. Yeah, really.)

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Darkly beautiful

ByAmy Bergsethon April 28, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces drew me in right away--I didn't want to put it down! Michael Golvach did a beautiful job developing the characters and their relationships. There is a very dark side to the story, but it was handled well and made the story much more complex and interesting. I am always impressed when a book brings out strong emotions in me, and this one definitely did. It made me feel hopeful, disturbed, joyful, angry...sometimes all at the same time! I highly recommend this book and I look forward to reading more novels by Michael Golvach.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Good Read!

ByKasion April 22, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed reading this. It was well written and the story was wonderful, a bit graphic at times, but I don't say that in a negative way.

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

Dark and Captivating Read

ByRiya Shiralion April 15, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces is a dark and painful story of Mandi, who is suffering from a dreadful past of being abused as a child. She is fearful and insecure and hence keeps to herself and doesn’t mix up with the outside world. Life has been too unkind to her and always believed that she can never be loved by anyone. Then Michael enters the story and changes her entire life. He hasn’t witnessed enough hardships in his life as compared to Mandi but he too is dealing with his own set of problems. Michael seems too drawn towards Mandi but she is too scared for him to find out about the scars on her body. She too falls for him terribly and their romance begins. It’s amazing to read how they both fight together to with a hope to escape to a beautiful world, away from her past.This book is very intriguing and will hold your interest till the end of the book. The characters are well developed and the flow of writing is smooth. Author has done a good job. I would definitely recommend this book, anytime.

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

A love story told by the perspectives of each of the ...

ByAmazon Customeron April 15, 2016

Format: Paperback

This this a book full of passion and pain. A love story told by the perspectives of each of the main characters.I truly enjoyed this read!

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

‘The aggression, the hatred, the payback, was handed down from generation to generation and from strongest to weakest.'

ByGrady HarpHALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon April 12, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Illinois author Michael Golvach gained his upper education degree form Columbia College in Chicago and has been immersed in Internet Technology as his day job - working as Consulting Senior with Linux Admin at Big Machines, Inc and now is President, VP of IT at Golvach Consulting and Golvach Publishing and has still found time to publish technical documentation and IT-related books, as well as fiction and self-help titles. But Michael is also a novelist and the books that are evident here on Amazon include four volumes of BRAIN SPANKING, SPLIT THE MIDDLE and now his newest MISSING PIECES. Hw is young, his writing is fresh and alert, sensitive without disparaging humor, and he presents a healthy observation of polar opposites of child rearing.

Even before reading his book it is noteworthy to see the manner in which he lays out his story with technical terms – Traumata, Haemostasis (halting bleeding), Endocytosis (active transport in which a cell transports molecules such as proteins into the cell by engulfing them), Neoplasia (uncontrolled growth as in cancer), Apoptosis (process of programmed cell death that occurs in multicellular organism), and Eudaimonia/Euthanatos (dealing with choices of death). The use of these technical terms automatically magnetizes the curious reader in wondering just how Michael will involve them in his story: the utilization is sure but subtle.

Michael opens his story in 1974 where we meet the abused Mandi, then 1985 where we encounter Mike. But this is an appropriate point to offer Michael’s synopsis: ‘Mandi Wexler grew up in a dysfunctional household, suffering unspeakable abuse. As she grew older, she lost more and more pieces of her soul until at last she matured into a hollow, haunted shell of a human being. Now she is an abused automaton who bends to the will of vicious and evil men, shutting out the good in the world and resigning herself to a life of misery, giving up all hope of becoming the vibrant young woman she could have been. Michael Skyler grew up in a military family, becoming used to never setting down roots, never alone yet always lonely, but never lacking for love and care. When he meets Mandi, he finds himself deeply drawn to her, even though he is hard pressed to explain why. Mandi tries her best to drive Michael away, not wanting him to see the scars on her body and soul. But the more Michael pursues her, the more she finds herself falling for him. Yet winning Mandi's love is not going to be easy for Michael, even if he can help free her from her self-imposed enslavement, for deep within Mandi lurk personal demons more menacing than any man ever could be. Will Michael be driven away by Mandi's dark secret, or will his love finally help Mandi replace the missing pieces of her heart?’

What is left to say, except this is as touching and genuinely moving a love story as has been created. Michael Golvach knows what he is about and has the intelligence and polish as a writer to create many more stories – the evidence is on every page of this very fine novel. Grady Harp, April 16

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Bravo

ByAmazon Customeron April 12, 2016

Format: Paperback

It took me three days of contemplation to decide what this review was going to be. The fact that the book lived with me for that entire time (and I am still thinking about it) meant it had to be nothing less than a five. Let's face it, how many books have you read where you've forgotten all about it once you turn the last page.

The storyline will definitely grip you and you won't be able to put the book down. And if you're anything like me, you'll be thinking about it long after you finish reading. Mandi was abused in every way possible as a child and, as one might expect, this has a significant impact on her as an adult. She comes to believe she deserves nothing more until, that is, she meets Michael. Michael is nice. Michael is good. And Michael sees something in Mandi she can't see for herself. I won't sugar-coat it - there are parts of this book that are really disturbing. And I won't give away the ending but they have a lot of barriers to overcome if they are to get to a happy ending.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Compelling read!

ByAmazon Customeron March 28, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Golvach grabs you from the first sentence in Missing Pieces. His tight prose and rich imagery drew me in, making it a book that was hard to put down. His two protagonists (Mandi and Mikey) are quite tormented and complex, in their process of coming unwound and then healing. While it is dark in tone, Missing Pieces honors those people who have the courage to take huge emotional risks again and again despite their past experiences. --Kathy F.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed Missing Pieces

ByAmazon Customeron March 25, 2016

Format: Paperback

I really enjoyed Missing Pieces. A great story about a girl's terrifying journey through a life of abuse. It really shows us that there are truly decent people in the world that care even when you've given up on the human race. Missing Pieces kept me reading and I didn't want to put it down!! Maureen C

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dark but excellent

ByMelissa M Hallon March 18, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces is ultimately a dark love story. It starts out telling the story of Mandi, an incredibly abused child, and her path to feeling like she has nothing to bring to the world. This part was very painful and difficult for me to read. Next enters Michael, a man who is almost the opposite of Mandi. He is raised in a loving family but has some secrets of his own.

The romance in this story is somewhat dark and built slowly, making it a true page tuner. It felt realistic to me and unforced. For being a very long book, it flew by. I couldn’t wait for everything to resolve itself. The ending was very strong and left me pleased with the outcome.

Overall, I rated Missing Pieces 5 stars because I couldn’t put it down and went to bed last night still thinking about the story.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book is dark, interesting and real.

BySierra Kleinon March 18, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This book was wonderfully written! This is a story of a young lady who has not lived a wonderful life, she has been abused. She meets a man who is having troubles of his own and together they will grow. This book is dark, interesting and real. In hopes of a better life, will the main character prevail? Great work!

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

Very intense read!

ByIvana S.on March 15, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This book is as incredible as its cover! Missing Pieces is definitely the kind of book that can be read in a single sitting. When I read the description of this novel I immediately knew that I just have to read this one. The plot sounded so interesting and the sole premise: ”Will Michael be driven away by Mandi's dark secret, or will his love finally help Mandi replace the missing pieces of her heart?", told me I can't skip on this one, I just couldn't help myself, so I went ahead.
It is a captivating. The world building in this story was wonderful. The romance was such a slow burn, that it hurt. I swooned whenever they spent time together, and I feel like it felt right, how it was carried out.
Overall this was a great book. The writing and plot were good, the characters were well done, and their relationship was believable. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes their characters to have some darkness in them.
I was always on my toes and I literally shouted ‘no’ at one point while reading--though the ending was totally satisfying. Highly recommend it!

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

Missing Pieces

ByShelbyon March 8, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces is the tale of a young woman who has been abused her whole life, a young man who has troubles of his own, and how their paths cross and their lives change upon meeting each other. The disturbing events of Mandi's life make for some pretty graphic content in the novel. Mike and his friends are drug users and when they are high they tend to speak very crassly.
Overall, the novel is well written and the characters are interesting. The author does a good job with this darker subject matter, and keeps the reader engaged throughout the book.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Absolutely beautiful.

BySimón Gómezon March 8, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Missing Pieces is the story of Mandi, a girl whose childhood was very hard and rough from being an abused child, so she grown up and became a scarred, fearful woman who doesn't like to open up to other people much less people trying to get into her heart. It's just too hard for her to believe she can be loved, or that she can get to love someone.
Enter Michael, the other protagonist of this story. Michael hasn't had a life as hard as Mandi, but he always felt that something was missing in his life, like he didn't belong in this normal world of normal people. When he meets Mandi, he immediately notices the scars in her heart and feels that she might be that something he longs for.
An absolutely beautiful and heart moving story unfolds between this two characters, and the reader will be entangled in it with no hope (or desire) to escape.

This book is a gem. The characters are super well developed and likeable, and the way the story flows keeps you turning pages for hours until you finish the whole book almost without noticing. A very satisfying reading experience overall, I hope to read more from Michael Golvach in the future.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Story, enjoyed very much.

ByJoe Gatzekon February 20, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This is the type of story that keeps you wondering what's going to happen next.

Will Mandi live a normal life after her abusive childhood?

Will Mike be able to handle the many challenges he'll face while pursuing Mandi?

Will they both find happiness?

I enjoyed the story and the way it hooks you into it

 

AMAZON.CO.UK

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

And if you're anything like me, you'll be thinking about it long after ...

ByAmazon Customeron 12 April 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

It took me three days of contemplation to decide what this review was going to be. The fact that the book lived with me for that entire time (and I am still thinking about it) meant it had to be nothing less than a five. Let's face it, how many books have you read where you've forgotten all about it once you turn the last page.

The storyline will definitely grip you and you won't be able to put the book down. And if you're anything like me, you'll be thinking about it long after you finish reading. Mandi was abused in every way possible as a child and, as one might expect, this has a significant impact on her as an adult. She comes to believe she deserves nothing more until, that is, she meets Michael. Michael is nice. Michael is good. And Michael sees something in Mandi she can't see for herself. I won't sugar-coat it - there are parts of this book that are really disturbing. And I won't give away the ending but they have a lot of barriers to overcome if they are to get to a happy ending.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Hard to put down

ByKaren E. Proctoron 15 March 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

A tremendously powerful and emotive subject which has been shared with personal insight and compassion. I can’t deny I found myself crying at times. The authors words are so honest and open and I don’t think there are many readers won’t feel the way I did upon reading. It must have been a tremendously hard book to write but thank goodness it was because it brings a deeper level of understanding to those of us on the outside looking in.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very powerful

ByML H.on 13 March 2016

Format: Paperback

If I was to sum Missing Pieces up in just one word it would be ‘Powerful’ I can’t say I have read many novels where abuse is the central theme but where I have I have found them disturbingly mawkish and lacking in emotional resonance. This certainly isn’t the case with Missing Pieces. Both the key characters and the plot coalesce to deliver a coherent and thought provoking story that gripped me from the start. It wouldn’t be an understatement to say it was quite dark at times but I think this added a great deal of depth.

 

GOODREADS.COM

 

Jul 19, 2016 InD'tale Magazine rated it 4 stars - really liked it

 

“Missing Pieces” is a book with staying power.

Read full review in the 2016 July/August issue of InD'tale Magazine.

 

**********

Jun 01, 2016 A. Powers rated it 4 stars - really liked it

Talk about a book you won’t be forgetting about any time soon! This book is hauntingly beautiful with a cast of amazing characters that carry the story through a few intense days in the life of Mike and Mandi – the former with nothing on his plate and the latter with way too much on her plate.
Watch out for the graphic content, though! It’s shocking, but I think that’s part of the reason why the story will be sticking with me for years to come.
I read and reviewed this book for OnlineBookClub.org. Read my full, official review at http://forums.onlinebookclub.org/view...

**********

Apr 12, 2016 Sharon rated it 5 stars - it was amazing

 

It took me three days of contemplation to decide what this review was going to be. The fact that the book lived with me for that entire time (and I am still thinking about it) meant it had to be nothing less than a five. Let's face it, how many books have you read where you've forgotten all about it once you turn the last page.

The storyline will definitely grip you and you won't be able to put the book down. And if you're anything like me, you'll be thinking about it long after you finish reading. Mandi was abused in every way possible as a child and, as one might expect, this has a significant impact on her as an adult. She comes to believe she deserves nothing more until, that is, she meets Michael. Michael is nice. Michael is good. And Michael sees something in Mandi she can't see for herself. I won't sugar-coat it - there are parts of this book that are really disturbing. And I won't give away the ending but they have a lot of barriers to overcome if they are to get to a happy ending. (less)

**********

Mar 08, 2016 Shelby rated it 3 stars - liked it

Missing Pieces is the tale of a young woman who has been abused her whole life, a young man who has troubles of his own, and how their paths cross and their lives change upon meeting each other.

The disturbing events of Mandi's life make for some pretty graphic content in the novel. She is verbally, physically, and sexually abused, and has the scars to show for it.

Mike and his friends are drug users and when they are high they tend to speak very crassly. I thought it a bit unrealistic that Mike suddenly stops using drugs when he meets Mandi, with almost no withdrawal symptoms. It's kind of a neat idea that she heals that part of him, but going from stoned all day long to sober over night seems like a stretch.

There were a few parts I had to skim over because it just got to graphic for me to stomach.

Overall, the novel is well written and the characters are interesting. The author does a good job with this darker subject matter, and keeps the reader engaged throughout the book. However, this is not one that I would recommend to my friends. (less)

**********

Mar 22, 2016 Simon rated it 5 stars - it was amazing

 

Missing Pieces is one of those novels that really gets you thinking . It isn’t the first novel I have read with a similar theme but hands down it is one of the most hard hitting. What I particularly liked about it was the sense of realism the author captures. It is very dark and some of the descriptions very intense, but this is what makes it such a powerful book to read. I think it deserves 5 stars.

 
 
 
 
 
AMAZON.COM         AMAZON.CO.UK             GOODREADS.COM
READER REVIEWS (Last Update 14/04/2016)
 
AMAZON.COM

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Split the Middle

Byfeedthegarbageon August 25, 2011

Format: Paperback

If you're looking for a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat, look no further. I wanted so badly to get to the end, I stayed up all night reading it. I would recommend this book to everybody!

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

Good Read

ByCalebon December 29, 2010

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I thought this an excellent read. I have recomended to several people and my son is currently reading and enjoying it as well.

 

Bloody Gullets

AMAZON.COM         AMAZON.CO.UK             GOODREADS.COM

Editorial Reviews

 

"Bloody Gullets by Michael Golvach is a collection of twenty short stories for those who love their books on the dark side. It is not gory, but it is dark where it matters. It is a collection of psychological thrillers that show you inside the dark spaces between the killer and his kills. Everything is not black and white, nor is it grey; sometimes it is red too. What I loved about this book is the fact that every single one of these stories has character. They have their own atmosphere that is thrilling and goose bump inducing.

Golvach did a great job with creating his characters; they weren't sociopaths, but they weren't exactly model citizens as well. In short, his characters are humans like you and me, and it just made this book that much likable and somewhat scarier. These stories are about surviving, fighting the inner demons and the dark elements inside each and every one of us. It is dark fiction without being gross and too bloody to stomach.

The story entitled Bloody Gullets was my favorite. From the beginning to the end, you have a complete story that piques your curiosity and makes you shiver. The three Dead Men stories were also really good. Darkness and Cruelty were dark enough to make you wish you were sitting with someone while reading them. This is an intense mix of stories that you will definitely keep with you and maybe give to friends who like to read dark stories too. (Rabia Tanveer - Readers Favorite Reviews)

**********

In ‘Infamous,’ the first story in Michael Golvach's short story collection, Bloody Gullets, Stanley Mendlesohn, orphaned a year after his birth, is shunted from foster home to foster home. As he grew older, he recognized the evil around him and the temptations laid at his feet. He accepts the voice of God telling him that he must cleanse the world of sin. This leads him to a fatal confrontation with his latest foster parents. ‘Believer’ is an amusing rendition of a smooth talking prisoner who manipulates a hateful guard into believing that he is paroled and the guard releases him, which leaves the guard with an awkward explanation on his hands. With ‘Object Lesson’, Ray, a mob enforcer, is instructing a 20-year-old sidekick how to handle targets. He visits a victim who owes 5K, but the slob says he doesn’t have it and wants more time... In ‘Small Deaths,’ Marcus Freedman wakes up every morning with no recollection of what happened the previous day. A bookmark in a pulp novel tells him his name and the name of his current girlfriend, Beth. He wakes up in a motel room with a girl in his bed. She asks who is Beth? A real death right then would have been good. There is lots more for readers to discover in this collection.

In Bloody Gullets, Michael Golvach explores with effortless skill the macabre, the chilling and horrifying things that lurk within everybody, which sometimes force people into behavior that turns the blood cold. The stories are superbly written, taking readers along dark, twisted corridors of delusional and deranged minds, places where few dare to venture. I relished opening windows to spine chilling experiences waiting for me in Bloody Gullets. To relieve tension from some of the more morbid tales, Michael Golvach treats readers to several satirical, whimsical stories that raise a smile and a chuckle. Understandably, some readers may not be amused. I found this compilation thought provoking, sometimes startling, but always entertaining, leaving me wanting more. (Stefan Vucak - Readers Favorite Reviews)

**********

Bloody Gullets by Michael Golvach is a collection of short stories of varying lengths. Some are very short, some not so short, but all have one thing in common: you don't know what you'll get. The stories explore the darker side of the human mind - what goes on in the mind of someone who robs a bank, but apparently did not? What goes on in the mind of a young man just out of foster care who seems to have a foster sister that wants to seduce him, but who might very well just be the devil in disguise? How much control do the voices in your head have over your actions? Who really controls you? Is there a difference between evil and good? The stories raise a lot of questions in the reader's head, and each story has its own strangely alluring atmosphere.

As far as the writing style goes, Bloody Gullets by Michael Golvach is great. For some reason, the writing just draws you in. This book is a good read for breaks in between when you are sick of the everyday short story that is just more of the same. The stories in Michael Golvach's Bloody Gullets are not light reading. They are short stories, yes, but definitely not light short stories. The stories will appeal to readers who like the darker side, who don't always want happy characters and happy endings. (Kim Anisi - Readers Favorite Reviews)

**********

Bloody Gullets by Michael Golvach contains a group of stories that run the gamut from psychologically entertaining to philosophically astute to whimsically provoking; all of which will rock your mind. Mr. Golvach is blessed with an ability to write provocative stories, with a sprinkling of blood and gore that clarify several abstruse concepts of the human condition. I loved each and every one of the eighteen stories (one of which has three parts) but my favorites were:

"Believer" -- where a prisoner practices a reverse form of mind control on a guard to get himself released. Included here is the abstraction that "We are hamsters. All of us. Running at breakneck pace on our wheels, trying to outrun ourselves. But the wheel never stops turning until we drop from exhaustion or death. All of us."

"The trick is to feel like you believe what you say, and then believing what you feel. And, once you've figured out how to make yourself believe what you say, as fantastic as it seems, making other people believe what you say is easy." A crafty bank robbery, an engaging interrogation, and a mind-boggling conclusion make "Led Dogs" one of my favorites.

"Infection Is The Game" is the last story in the book and ranks among my favorites as it describes the potentially horrific results of today's explorations into mind-control technology. Mr. Golvach's presentation of the concepts in this story is indicative of his authoring genius and understanding of the realities of the world in which we live. And the ending? Well...

These are stories I will read again and again. Each of them stands alone in character and concept - some are light, some are heavy, but they all provide insight into the human psyche and truths of human behavior. Exceptionally well written and edited. A great read. (Lex Allen - Readers Favorite Reviews)

**********

Anthologies have to consolidate, to ensure that every word is meaningful, and that's certainly the case with Bloody Gulletts where Michael Golvach treats his readers to an enthralling collection of  bite-sized mind benders. Each one telling its story so strongly through the lives of superbly nuanced characters, that we not only forgive the brevity of Golvach's words, but welcome the suspension of disbelief without question. Readers familiar with his novel Missing Pieces will know there is an impressive tonal quality to his work which makes it quite distinguishable and once again he uses this to powerful effect. This is a darker realm he takes us into and whilst the bloodletting is indefatigable it never displaces meaningful character development, or equally as important, narrative ingenuity. He gives us atmosphere and apprehension, but ensures sensational shocks are measured. In doing so he ratchets up the tension time and time again, commanding our contemplation and unease throughout.

Simply excellent, Bloody Gullets proves a genuine jewel amongst its anthology counterparts and perfect for those who easily get bored with longer fiction. Recommended without reservation it deserves to be at the top of your 'to read' list for the weeks ahead. (BookViral)

READER REVIEWS (Last Update 20/06/2016)
 
AMAZON.COM

5.0 out of 5 stars

Speculative Stories Woven Together by Hope of Redemption

By Katherine Copenhaver on December 19, 2016

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

In "Bloody Gullets", Michael Golvach takes us on a tour of the dark side of human nature. Many of his characters are people I would not want to meet, and the situations are not ones I would want to find myself in. Thankfully, the magic of fiction allows us to view their lives at a safe distance. These stories are also about lost love and the feelings of emptiness and despondency that stem from it. Plus, there is the agnostic hope of finding redemption in the hereafter. Those are the qualities that give Golvach's characters their humanity. I was reminded of Quentin Tarantino's movies when reading some of these stories. I would also compare them to the fiction of Raymond Carver and Flannery O'Connor. Golvach's stories definitely deserve the same serious consideration as their work.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Diverse appeal both poignant and optimistic.

By Eishinas  September 28, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

With exquisite imagination and characters some endearing, some shady and complex, author Michael Golvach complies 'Bloody Gullets' with 20 short, compelling stories of emotions and survival tales concerning the very nature of humanity written and put across in a monologue form of speech. Vividly detailed settings intertwined with intricately developed plot to create an exceptionally immersive reading experience, each tale unfolds at a reasonable pace and builds a stunning and engaging conclusion without being overly tedious.
Author Michael Golvach is a truly gifted writer who is a master of his work and weaves each story with diverse appeal both poignant and optimistic- full of well paced action and surprises. 'Bloody Gullets' is a sweeping-off-the-feet-attention grabbing book that has a bit of everything which makes it well rounded and will appeal to readers of many genre. If you love and are looking for a novel with charismatic, troubled and multidimensional characters then this masterpiece with tale of survival, growth, loss love and struggle is meant to be yours. Highly recommended to readers interested in short stories with strong story line.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dark, edgy an addictive reading
By D Brent September 15, 2016
Format: Paperback

Verified Purchase
Do I feel like a little light reading, or do I prefer my short stories dark? Definitely the latter and I can't fault this clever and diverse collection from Michael Golvach. I'd already read his book 'Missing Pieces' and this collection shows how good a writer he his. With the ability to capture your attention and more importantly hold it with just a few acerbic prose is the mark of a good storyteller and here he demonstrates that ability time and again. I wouldn't want o pick a favourite as they are all very good but it isn't an understatement to say they are quite dark. So if short and dark appeals don't hesitate to start reading!

**********

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful read !!

ByMike Hubbardon March 29, 2017

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Loved it !! Great job Michael. Can't wait for your next book

**********

AMAZON.CO.UK

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Up there with Bradbury

By Karen E. Proctoron 7 August 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Sometimes I want to read something shorter but I still want it to have impact and engage my imagination and on this level that’s exactly what I got with Bloody Gullets. Few short story writers have really made an impression but with Michael Golovach I can draw favourable comparisons with the late great Ray Bradbury which is a fair indication of how good his writing is.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

An excellent collection of short stories.

ByDanny 21 July 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Do I feel like a little light reading, or do I prefer my short stories dark? I thought this was a great tag for this books blurb and it really does give a clear indication of the stories you will find inside. What I wasn’t prepared for was the calibre of writing. At times I was reminded of the late great Ray Bradbury which isn’t a statement I would make lightly. Each story just works for me. They are powerfully emotive and you get clear images in your mind as you read them. For people like me who like darker anthologies Bloody Gullets has to be on their reading list!

**********

GOODREADS.COM

 

Jul 17, 2016 Lex Allen rated it 5 stars - it was amazing

“Bloody Gullets,” by Michael Golvach contains a group of stories that run the gamut from psychologically entertaining to philosophically astute to whimsically provoking; all of which will rock your mind. Mr. Golvach is blessed with an ability to write provocative stories, with a sprinkling of blood and gore that clarify several abstruse concepts of the human condition. I loved each and every one of the eighteen stories (one of which has three parts) but my favorites were:

“Believer” — where a prisoner practices a reverse form of mind control on a guard to get himself released. Included here is the abstraction that “We are hamsters. All of us. Running at breakneck pace on our wheels, trying to outrun ourselves. But the wheel never stops turning until we drop from exhaustion or death. All of us.”

“The trick is to feel like you believe what you say, and then believing what you feel. And, once you’ve figured out how to make yourself believe what you say, as fantastic as it seems, making other people believe what you say is easy.” A crafty bank robbery, an engaging interrogation and a mind-boggling conclusion make “Led Dogs," one of my favorites.

“Infection Is The Game” is the last story in the book and ranks among my favorites as it describes the potentially horrific results of today’s explorations into mind-control technology. Mr. Golvach’s presentation of the concepts in this story is indicative of his authoring genius and understanding of the realities of the world in which we live.

These are stories I will read again and again. Each of them stands alone in character and concept, some are light, some are heavy, but they all provide insight into the human psyche and truths of human behavior.

**********

Diane rated it 5 stars - it was amazing

Do I feel like a little light reading, or do I prefer my short stories dark? Definitely the latter and I can't fault this clever and diverse collection from Michael Golvach. I'd already read his book 'Missing Pieces' and this collection shows how good a writer he his. With the ability to capture your attention and more importantly hold it with just a few acerbic prose is the mark of a good storyteller and here he demonstrates that ability time and again. I wouldn't want o pick a favourite as they are all very good but it isn't an understatement to say they are quite dark. So if short and dark appeals don't hesitate to start reading!

**********

 
 
 
 

fiX

AMAZON.COM         AMAZON.CO.UK        AMAZON.CA     GOODREADS.COM

Editorial Reviews

 

Anyone picking up a novel by Michael Golvach should know they are in the hands of a confident and clever writer with a distinctive literary voice. From Missing Pieces to Bloody Gullets he's demonstrated his unwillingness to compromise when it comes to originality and Fix is no different. It's a bold move by any author to dabble in another genre but with its dark haunted undertones, this is one step change that works extraordinarily well. With its deliriously fast pace matched by the quality of Golvach's writing, it proves a clever, intricate and intriguing novel that is a genuine joy to read,highly engaging and all but impossible to put down. As with his previous novels, there are detailed motives behind the conflict and competing agendas at work but the real stroke of genius in Fix is its flawed protagonist in David Fitz. On many levels, his character is a masterstroke which reflects the dark energy and gritty sense of realism that underpins the novel as a whole. It's not a quick read, coming in at over 600 pages but with a diverse cast of characters, impressive dialogue, interplay and an ingenious multi-layered plot Fix is one read that's over far too quick.
 

Another superbly written and highly entertaining read from Golvach, Fix is sure to delight his many readers and is recommended without reservation. (BookViral)

**********

Having read for review Bloody Gullets and What I Did This Summer by Davey Fitz, (a short story related to the full novel, FiX) I, once again, have the distinct pleasure of introducing the brilliantly twisted mind of Michael Golvach to new readers. In the paranormal thriller FiX, David Fitz, a small time drug dealer, and his girlfriend, Juno, are on the run from David's boss. What they hoped would be witness protection turns into a set-up and David's boss, held for only twenty-four hours of questioning, is free and hot on their tail. From that point onward, the story turns into a serpentine tale of betrayal, new friendships with Cadence and Brent (whose personalities and talents are far deeper than meets the eye), violent paranormal events, murder, blood (lots of blood), and twists and turns enough to provide even the most jaded reader with an exciting and dizzying reading experience.

Golvach's skill in creating an illusory scene that reeks of reality is unparalleled by anyone I've read in the past, except the indomitable Edgar A. Poe. His characters come alive as everyday people with talents and shortcomings, trying their best to survive a hostile environment and eventuality that grows weirder and more complicated with every turn of the page. So much goes on, so fast in this story, it's impossible for me and my meager talents to describe. How Golvach keeps it all together and pulls every unimaginable facet into a tightly woven, beautifully executed story is beyond me. But you can trust me on this; you will never see what's coming, and that makes FiX a must-read story for every fan of paranormal / horror thrillers, crime mysteries and, believe it or not, a love story. - Lex Allen for Reader's Favorite International Book Awards

 

**********

 

 

 

READER REVIEWS (Last Update 31/08/2017)
 
AMAZON.COM

5.0 out of 5 stars

A PARANORMAL, DRUG DEALING, BUDDING ROMANCE KIND OF RIDE.

By pwindsinspirationson August 22, 2017

Format: Paperback

I was transfixed with the story from the beginning, at first I felt like I was reading Robert M. Pirsig; there was a philosophical feel from David's uncle. A sense of understanding that he attempted to apply to the young boys life.

David was a sensitive young man, directly expressive, and I like how his character is setup and portrayed from the start.

Budding romance, plenty of character development that builds on itself as the story progresses, paranormal twists and turns, drug addiction, all play a role as the characters attempt to question and find answers about their morality and their reality.

A well timed novel, everything in it's place revealed at the right time.

********************

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

Interesting work of paranomal totallity.

By JesterDev on August 22, 2017

Format: Paperback

From the start I was questioning what 'exactly' was going on. David, early on known as 'Davey' by his uncle, hints around at certain things that kept the doors of curiosity open. David to me, at first appears to be a typical and mentally health young man. His perspective of the world around him plays an important role on how he see's the world, and how he later makes choices in his life. Reality starts to become a question of truth of fiction for David reality begins to glitch and things take an interesting turn.

Sometimes the author gently opens a door, other times he slams it open and the story-line gets in your face intense. A crazy paranormal ride into the depths of modern street life coupled with an ever questionable reality.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

By H Allan on July 31, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I'm really loving your books!! Keep it up!

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is a fast paced read and it's easy to finish in a few hours

By KB on July 30, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This is a fast paced read and it's easy to finish in a few hours. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of the love story with the darkness of the character actions and involvement. I think tales that twist threads of good and evil together in a way that is not black and white are thrilling and contain elements that remind us of real life situations and decisions. That said, the story is extremely well written and I think we need more literature showing insights into the world of addiction, and especially, the dark path out. It's dark thriller, action packed adventure and romance all combined into one. Will definitely be getting the next installment from Golvach.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

You won't want to put this down!

ByClaudiaon July 25, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

This story was a very interesting, multi-faceted story. I very much enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good horror story that will keep you guessing from the edge of your seat the whole book.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Eerie, twisting tale!

By Frank0 on July 5, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Eerie, twisting tale. You begin to think David is hallucinating or psychotic with imaginary friends, but they are real! In the opening, it’s hard to like David—he’s a street-level drug pusher, but he’s trying to quit and is forcing his addicted girl-friend, Juno, to quit with him. He wants to escape, to leave that life, and the drug-dealing mobsters behind—David knows he and Juno are just one “fiX” away from descending into hell again. He wonders if this is hell, where are the angels to save him?

**********

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it

By Jacqui L. on July 1, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

fiX, by Michael Golvach is a story you won't soon forget. The author manages to blend so many genres (paranormal, crime, thriller, mystery, romance) in such a way that you don't even notice. The story moves at such a fast pace that, even though it's a long book, it reads quickly. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it.

5.0 out of 5 stars

**********

Different...and well worth the read.

By VWon April 17, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

On many levels, this is not my type of book, which is all the more reason I commend Michael Golvach for his writing skills. It seems that the goal here- at least in part- was to present something "different", and "FIX" definitely succeeds there. The story masterfully blends paranormal experiences with gritty realism, while simultaneously involving the reader with very well-developed characters.
For the most part, my only criticism is book's subtitle, "A ParaBnormal Fairy Tale", as this sells the story short. "Different" though it is, this book keeps you wondering what's going to happen next- it left this reader pulling for the main characters.
A multi-layered story, "FIX" is a work I heartily recommend.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

A story that grabs you by the throat and won't let you go. A masterful work of art by a gifted literarian.

By njlech on June 19, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

From the moment I started reading FIX, it grabbed me by the throat and didn't let go. It's a mystery from page 1, and it totally engrossed me from the very beginning all the way to end. That's extremely rare for me, and hasn't happened since I was a teenager more than 30 years ago when I was really into reading novels. This brought me back to a place I'd been many years ago, completely absorbed in a story where I can't put it down.

One thing I didn't really care for, and this is just personal taste, was the depiction of graphic violence and extreme degrading language of the evil characters. I understand why they were portrayed in that manner to such an extent. The richness and depth of the characters needed to be there for the story to reach the levels that Golvach takes you.

What thrilled me the most was the detailed story of the romance building between the main characters, and how the back stories of the characters revealed themselves over time, unfolding at the right times to keep you highly engaged and begging for more.

I am completely satisfied with the story, how it pulls you in with the first chapter, how it builds in drama, and how it climaxes with an astounding ending. This is a beautiful lavish treat, filled with sexual tension, love, hatred, passion, romance, drama, horror, all wrapped up in a supernatural paranormal crime thriller.

Quite the original and unique story. I absolutely loved it!

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

A beautiful and disturbing fairy tale

By Amy Bergseth on May 28, 2017

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Oh how I enjoyed this book! I kind of wish I hadn't finished it so quickly, because I miss the characters. It's a fantastic story, with supernatural elements that are so well written that the line between normal and paranormal became blurred as I read the book. I was fully engulfed, and sobbing (in a good way!) by the time I got to the end. And as always, Michael Golvach managed to include the disturbing and unnerving elements that I always appreciate! I know that a book (or movie, or song, or play) is good when it makes me feel that kind of emotion. This is my favorite by Golvach yet. I can't wait to read his next.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Worth the time to read.

By S. J. Main on May 6, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

Fix is a paranormal thriller written about David and his girlfriend Juno. They lead a life that is not exactly what they dreamt of growing up. Stuck in a situation where drugs are involved, David is trying to free himself and his girlfriend by working with the police and hustling his way out of the deep hole he has dug for them. As he is trying to drag his drug dealer boss down, things turn for the worse and David finds himself in an even more troubled situation. On the run, David makes some new friends on the way, Brent and Cadence, which add more texture and twists to this thrilling tale.

The content begins with a beautiful love story and then moves the reader into a well-described introduction. I enjoyed the fact that every chapter had an illustration of beautifully drawn wings. The pace of the story and the way the content is written impels you to read more. With every chapter read, you cannot put the book down or deny the wish in wanting to know what happens next.

The literary standard is excellently written. There are no editing or structural issues within the book. The flow and connectivity between the storyline are exquisitely laid together.

This suspenseful, deliciously thrilling story is well suited for its audience. It has been a while since I have read a book this well written.
Written by Jeyran Main

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must Read

By Mark on June 1, 2017

Format: Paperback

This book is an incredible read from beginning to end. Golvach’s writing style doesn’t allow for much “rest” for the reader and as such I ended up blazing through it in just a few sleepless nights.

There are so many layers to the story that I will definitely be re-reading it in the near future to see what details I might have not paid enough attention to the first time around.

Like others have said, as far as genre goes this book is all over the place. Sure it’s a love story. And sure, it’s a supernatural thriller. It’s crafted with such finesse that you never feel as if anything is out of place. Don’t get me wrong: There are SEVERAL “what-the-hell-just-happened?!?” moments. Twists, turns, and some really dark acts of violence are present and fit beautifully and seamlessly into the narrative.

All in all, this book was an insanely fun read with no “slow” parts I can think of. Golvach seriously doesn’t waste any words. You will read this front to back before you realize that you haven’t slept or eaten in days, and you won’t even mind.

**********

3.0 out of 5 stars

There's a good story in there.

By D. Gutknecht on June 15, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

This was my first time reading Golvach's work and experiencing his style. There were a few aspects to that style that took me out of the moment while reading, but that's subjective.

The story he lays out in fiX is solid and original. He blends a variety of genres together seamlessly in a way I've not encountered before. There's effective foreshadowing (sometimes in ways I wasn't even aware of), good character development and nice callbacks. Overall, I was glad for the opportunity to read it.

The reason I didn't rate it higher: I think it needs some serious editing. Maybe by a third. There is a great deal of character dialog that felt like expository monologging, and some of it might have been better handled by the narrator. Or cut altogether. Golvach's descriptive skills are exceptional, and as such, could be more effective when used sparingly.

Overall, the story is good. Reading it was a memorable experience, and that puts it above a lot of fiction that's out there now.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

And now he's dipped his toe in the paranormal world - creating an angel you'd initially like to punch in the face

By Avid Reader on June 19, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

Michael Golvach has a talent for creating the most unlikeable characters and making you see them as human; flawed but redeemable. And now he's dipped his toe in the paranormal world - creating an angel you'd initially like to punch in the face, until you get to grips with her story. I won't spoil it for you, but if you're looking for something different, look no further. A real page turner that defies all attempts at genrefication.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Noir-esque, supernatural and addictive.

By Brian H. on May 22, 2017

Format: Paperback

Having read and enjoyed Mr. Golvach's gritty, noir-ish 'Split the Middle' , I grabbed fiX soon as I could. This novel takes us to some surprising places with supernatural twists that add a new dimension to a gritty tale of two people trying to rise up from the underbelly of society. I got a hint of Steven King mojo when reading fiX, albeit with maybe a bit more intensity and blood.
I'd like to see this put to a screen adaptation - would make a great thriller ala early James Wan.
This is a great read with some fast-paced and twisted, supernatural inventions. You won't be able to put it down.

**********

4.0 out of 5 stars

Inventive and original

By Amazon Customer on May 7, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

A very different and creative take on a love story. Crosses a crime thriller with the supernatural and a classic tale of love unending. Kept me intrigued with as the mystery unfolded and provided a satisfying ending. Well worth the read

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome

By Mike Hubbard on April 12, 2017

Format: Paperback

Loved it !! I'm a fan of mike Golvach's writing

**********

AMAZON.CO.UK

 

5 out of 5 stars

And now he's dipped his toe in the paranormal world - creating an angel you'd initially like to punch in the face

ByAvid Readeron 19 June 2017

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Michael Golvach has a talent for creating the most unlikeable characters and making you see them as human; flawed but redeemable. And now he's dipped his toe in the paranormal world - creating an angel you'd initially like to punch in the face, until you get to grips with her story. I won't spoil it for you, but if you're looking for something different, look no further. A real page turner that defies all attempts at genrefication.

**********

AMAZON.CA

4 out of 5 stars

Not Your Typical Beach Read

ByAriKrison June 10, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

On the surface, this is a story of two drug addicts, David and Juno, trying to kick the habit while double crossing their ‘boss’ dealer by hooking up with a crooked cop who promises them witness protection in exchange for indictable information. When their whereabouts are discovered by their drug dealing boss, the potential witness protection plan goes south and they find their lives are in danger. By this time, they have formed an acquaintance with a strange couple in the neighborhood in which they were hiding out. And this is when things become stranger still. As the novel has been hinting up to then, nothing is at it seems.

The novel, Fix, is reminiscent of a ‘God’s must be Crazy’, theme. It veers between a nasty, dystopian society driven by greed, power, violence and money fed by the oblivion created by drugs to the behind the scenes manipulation by other more mysterious powers who have their own agendas. With a protagonist who is at first blindly, and then with more awareness, trying to get himself off the wheel of destiny and into the arms of a woman who he has an inexplicable and powerful reaction to from the first time he meets her.

**********

5.0 out of 5 stars

Worth the time to read

ByS. J. Mainon May 6, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

Fix is a paranormal thriller written about David and his girlfriend Juno. They lead a life that is not exactly what they dreamt of growing up. Stuck in a situation where drugs are involved, David is trying to free himself and his girlfriend by working with the police and hustling his way out of the deep hole he has dug for them. As he is trying to drag his drug dealer boss down, things turn for the worse and David finds himself in an even more troubled situation. On the run, David makes some new friends on the way, Brent and Cadence, which add more texture and twists to this thrilling tale.

The content begins with a beautiful love story and then moves the reader into a well-described introduction. I enjoyed the fact that every chapter had an illustration of beautifully drawn wings. The pace of the story and the way the content is written impels you to read more. With every chapter read, you cannot put the book down or deny the wish in wanting to know what happens next.

The literary standard is excellently written. There are no editing or structural issues within the book. The flow and connectivity between the storyline are exquisitely laid together.

This suspenseful, deliciously thrilling story is well suited for its audience. It has been a while since I have read a book this well written.
Written by Jeyran Main

**********

GOODREADS.COM

 

Mar 20, 2017 Lex Allen rated it it was amazing

Having read for review “Bloody Gullets” and “What I Did This Summer by Davey Fitz,” (a short story related to the full novel, “FiX”) I, once again, have the distinct pleasure of introducing the brilliantly twisted mind of Michael Golvach to new readers.

In the paranormal thriller “FiX,” David Fitz, a small time drug dealer, and his girlfriend, Juno, are on the run from David’s boss. What they hoped would be witness protection turned into a set-up and David’s boss, held for only twenty-four hours of questioning, was free and hot on their tail. From that point onward, the story turns into a serpentine tale of betrayal, new friendships with Cadence and Brent (whose personalities and talents are far deeper than meets the eye), violent paranormal events, murder, blood (lots of blood) and twists and turns enough to provide even the most jaded reader an exciting and dizzying reading experience.

Golvach’s skill in creating an illusory scene that reeks of reality is unparalleled by anyone I’ve read in the past except the indomitable Edgar A. Poe. His characters come alive as everyday people with talents and short-comings trying their best to survive a hostile environment and eventuality that grows weirder and more complicated with every turn of the page. So much goes on, so fast in this story, it’s impossible for me and my meager talents to describe. How Golvach keeps it all together and pulls every unimaginable facet into a tightly woven, beautifully executed story is beyond me. Bur you can trust me on this; you will never see what’s coming, and that makes “FiX” a must read story for every reading fan of paranormal / horror thrillers, crime mysteries and believe it or not, a love story.

**********